some kind of art feelings

I remember going to the Tate Modern one day and sitting in the rothko room. I think I was with the CTLS kids? or maybe just wj. I remember not really getting it and maybe giggling a little- this super dim room, broad swathes of dull red on the walls, everyone in the room kind of isolated from each other. very different from the rest of the museum, which was always too crowded and kind of loud for my tastes. I sat there for a bit just to look, to try and absorb it. Maybe art is like music, you only experience it fully when you’re in a certain frame of mind. Makes me wish I’d gone back alone. If there’s one thing I liked about being in London was being able to kind of take the museums at my own pace, go and spend time as I wanted without having the time pressure of needing to see everything. I remember circling Tracy Emin’s bed, feeling something rise in my throat- how stunned I was when I first took in the Lady of Shalott. 

The Empty Lot installation at the Tate Modern was put up like a couple of month sbefore I left London. There still wasn’t much to see at that time, nothing having really grown yet, but I remember idly thinking that it’ll be a sight to see, once it’d been up a bit longer. In some kind of ironic way though, they’re taking it down before I’d probably manage to see it next year. It was a cool concept anyhow. Thinking of what soil samples from different areas, with all that innate potential, would produce in the same conditions. It’s hopeful. Everything thriving together, breathing gently in a wide open space. 

Leave a Reply

