small. afraid. but full of life all the same

been moping about yesterday for a good long time, first feeling a little sorry and angry for myself and kinda regretting throwing myself into this process. but enough! tomorrow i’ll try again: if I fail I fail, but I’ll prove that I can come into something afraid and nevertheless be receptive to everything i learn from it; listen to harsh criticism and accept it in the spirit that it is meant; try my best and not hold back anything even if I think it won’t be enough. if I break in the process, then let me break hard enough that I can start from nothing again.

                                        I beg them.
Teach me mortality, frighten me
into the present. Help me to find
the heft of these days. That the nights
will be full enough and my heart feral.

Leave a Reply

